Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
899 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally glued up the final assembly of a cutting board i started a while back. Never got around to build me table saw sled. Today i did. I made an end grain cutting board. Can i pass it through my planer. In the back of my mind im thinking no but want to check.

·
crosseyed & dyslexic
589 Posts
Man you are asking for a world of hurt, but I have heard of guys running one thru a planer taking very shallow cuts. I wouldn't do it myself. Before I bought a drum sander I used my belt sander.

But I'm no expert and there's plenty of them on here :thumbsup:

·
Registered
4,801 Posts
I'm with Crusader, bad idea. I've read of people being seriously hurt when a chunk broke off and destroyed the planer. But others on here claim to do it w/o issue.

·
Registered
1,767 Posts
I've done it (once) but I know it's not a recommended process. I ran an approximately 10"x12" rock maple end grain cutting board through my DeWalt 733. I took very light cuts (1/128") and glued a sacrificial strip across the back edge of the board. The planer was doing some serious screaming (and I stood well back) but it worked. The only problem was that the sacrificial strip broke off and chipped the rear edge, so I just trimmed it a bit shorter.

I've heard the horror stories, too, but it worked for me on that project. Next time I do an end-grain cutting board, I'm going to level it with a router ski jig setup. Here's a video showing one in use: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGx9_FOC3sM&feature=youtu.be and here's a thread showing several designs: http://www.routerforums.com/jigs-fixtures/37449-plywood-ski-jig.html

That's probably a safer route (ha-ha) to get that cutting board level.

Bill

·
Registered
305 Posts
I have run end-grain rock maple glueups through a thickness planer on a number of projects. It takes:

1. A sturdy planer-I probably wouldn't try it with light weight table top units,