Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
twingall1
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm just starting out wood-turning on a Clarke 20" wood lathe. One of the things i want to do is turn chess pieces from ebony/boxwood.
Trying to decide on a set of chisels and i need some advice. There seems to be a huge price range out there and a lot of choise. I want some nice quality chisels but i don't want to break the bank! (maybe something in the £20-£60 range..(($30-$100))

Also, using these two examples (one is £13, the other £50), can someone give me a breakdown of the difference in quality?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/8pc-BRAND...t=UK_Hand_Tools_Equipment&hash=item58a13b6000

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/8pc-HSS-P...t=UK_Hand_Tools_Equipment&hash=item5d3a31bef4

Many thanks,
Tom

·
Registered
4,801 Posts
Don't buy a set. There will be sizes and gouges you'll probably rarely ever use. To do the type of items you mentioned, I'd get a roughing gouge, diamond parting tool, 1-2 different sized spindle gouges and maybe a skew. Robert Sorby and Henry Taylor are good brands. Thompson lathe tools are fantastic but they are a little pricy.

·
7,222 Posts
I would go with Sawdustfactory's recommendation.

A set sounds less expensive, but you will have tools which do not get used.

UK brands like Robert Sorby and Henry Taylor are good, and they have different quality of tools.

I have some tools from both of these companies.

Cheaper tools will require more frequent sharpening.

Sawdustfactory mentioned Thompson tools. These are terrific tools, but he is a US manufacturer. I expect the shipping would be expensive.

I do not know the mail order companies in the UK, but start looking for the Robert Sorby and Henry Taylor tools in the UK mail order companies.

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
Yep , what they said , don't buy sets .
Get the two ot three basic tools for what you intend starting off doing , and then get more as you go .
Sets have a few drawbacks .