Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m building a coffee table with the tabletop flush to the legs, aprons and stretchers (no overhang). I’m pretty new to woodworking but I’ve only seen tabletops connected to the base with some sort of fasteners. However, I don’t think my top will be perfectly seamless to the aprons and stretchers without a glue up. Am I going to regret glueing the top to the base once the weather changes or is there a better way to attach the top?

·
The Nut in the Cellar
1,094 Posts
You didn''t state the dimensions of the table top. Wood moves with temperature/humidity changes even if finished. Therefore, I would not advise gluing the top to the aprons and leg tops without any mechanical connection as I would expect glue joint failure, or top joint failure over time. Unless the top is made of veneered plywood, I would expect the joints that make up the top panel to fail after time passes. I am currently making a coffee table from maple and the top measures 50" long by 30" wide. I am using the figure 8 desktop connectors to fasten the top to the carcass. The top is a glue up of six pieces of hard maple biscuit joined with Titebond II clue. The top panel is finished on both faces (top and bottom) to minimize/equalize movement. I am using 24 of the connectors as the finished coffee table will weigh in excess of 225 pounds and I don't want someone to rip the top off trying to move the table. The connectors are let into the top of the carcass (your table aprons) with a forstner bit so the top will sit flush with the top of the carcass.

Attachments

Reactions: Tom-G

·
Registered
12,588 Posts
It would be good to have a sketch of your coffee table to understand the design. What type/species of wood are you using. Will the top be solid wood or plywood?

George

·
Registered
803 Posts