Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been building a frame for a bathroom mirror in my parents new winter condo out of cherry of some cherry molding they picked up. They told me they’d taken taken a drawer from their vanity (also cherry) to Sherman Williams and got it color matched and had already picked out an oil based finish.

I built the mirror and applied some of Charles Neil’s blotch control on it. I’ve never worked with the stuff before. I sent them back to SW to retest a sample with the blotch control on it. They came back with an Old Master’s Gel stain instead of an oil stain. I’ve done most other finishes but never a gel and never anything from Old Master’s. So totally new stuff all around for me. The sample they didn’t wipe all the gel stain off, it’s streaked and looks a like the quick job it was, but the color is almost perfect. I assumed I could get close to that by building up many multiple coats like I’d do with an oil stain.

I wiped on a first coat on my own sample piece. It looked beautiful, no blotching at all, but the color was pretty light. After drying it was dull and lifeless but the satin topcoat would fix that. Out of curiosity I also applied the gel stain to a sample peace not treated with the blotch control. I was really surprised at how badly it blotched as I’d not expected it to do that with a gel nearly as much.

Not having a lot of time, my parents are iching to get out of the cold, I went ahead and applied it to the frame. I applied a 2nd coat to my test piece, again it looked pretty good wet. After drying though I can’t tell a difference at all in color between one coat and two. I experimented with leaving the gel on a little longer before wiping but as soon as I wipe it’s back to where I started. The color just isn’t building as I’d hoped.

Can anyone tell me what I might be doing wrong? Being a little lighter is ok, but this is way too light.

·
Registered
176 Posts