Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is going to sound like a noob question, but I am a total noob. I am building a cabinet of drawers, 17 drawers to be exact. My carcass is built, and now I need to start the drawers. I really want to use a drawer lock joint, but I was told by a guy at Woodcraft that I would need to clamp the drawers or they would rack. He suggested pocket holes. I have the Kreg pocket hole system, but I have a Kreg router table, too. I have built an entire workbench and hutch using the pocket hole jig, and while it has its place, I'm not crazy about it. My question is this: If I use the drawer lock joint, do I need to clamp the drawers? I was just going to glue and pin nail. I don't have but a few clamps and not real interested in buying a bunch of clamps just for this project. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
834 Posts
Welcome!

You'll find that you need clamps for more than this one project. I don't think I ever made a project that didn't use at least one clamp for something.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the welcome! I have clamps, just not enough to clamp 17 drawers at once and I want to batch them out.

·
7,222 Posts
I have a decent collection of clamps, but sometimes I would like more.

I normally use several clamps for a glue-up. If I do not control the alignment with clamps, then "Murphy" decides to move the pieces.

The mitre lock bit takes a LOT of set-up.

Whatever joint you decide to use for the drawers, I would clamp the corner to one of my 90 deg aluminium jigs intended for such a purpose.

I would not skimp on clamps, for me they are a time saver.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts

You could just machine a simple rabbet on the drawer sides, to let in the front and back. Run a groove in the sides and front at least a ¼" up from the edge to slide the bottom in. Make the back short so the bottom can slide in.