Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to woodturning. Just purchased a used Rockwell Delta 46-525 lathe. Where do I purchase chucks for this machine? Will I need an adaptor?

Jim

·
7,222 Posts
You could start looking back at earlier threads on the forum on chuck recommendations.

You need to measure the spindle diameter and threads per inch.

Chucks do need an adapter, so ensure you get the relevant size.

Places to purchase chucks include :
Penn State Industries
Packard Woodworks
Craft Supplies
Lee Valley
Woodcraft
Teknatool (NOVA series of chucks)
Rockler

·
Registered
400 Posts
I have an older delta (25 years old) and it has a 7/8" diameter an can't remember the number of threads. Anyways I had to make an adapter to go to 7/8 to 1 inch. They don't sell one like I needed. If I was to do over, instead of getting a chuck with a 1 inch hole, I would have went to a 1 1/4). Only reason as it would have been easier making the adapter. I'm luckey as I had a friend that does that stuff. I bought the check $89 from penn state. Seems like a good chuck so far.

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
I have Novas as well (G3's, SN's, and SN2'2)
Here is a link to the service center showing inserts, I would really be surprised if they do not have an insert to fit your spindle.

http://novatoolsusa.com/Chuck-Accessories_c6.htm?page=all

If yours is 7/8" they have two with different threads. I didn't count but probably 25+ total.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Any suggestions on what type chuck would be a good beginner type chuck. Also what type chuck would I need to turn bowls?

Jim

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Any suggestions on what type chuck would be a good beginner type chuck. Also what type chuck would I need to turn bowls?

Jim
You should be able to turn bowls with just about any chuck. Most come with 50mm jaws to start and you can buy other jaw sets as your needs arise.