Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Turners!

tl;dr: What is the best bang for my buck for a new turner at Woodcraft if they have $115 in giftcards?

I received $115 in WoodCraft giftcards for the Holidays and am looking for some guidance into what I should get. I'm really new to turning, have really just made shavings, and a small top. This is a new hobby for me and I want to make sure I get the best bang for my buck.
What I want to to do is to be able to turn small things (pens, small bowls, etc).

What I have:
  • Lathe (Spur and small face plate that came with it)
  • Spindle tool set from HF
  • Grinder for sharpening

My interpretation of best options:
  • 4 Jaw Chuck (would require some additional money)
  • Bowl turning tool set
  • A turning class
  • Pen Mandrel
  • Wood blanks (I feel like I should get this as it seems like a great deal)

I think the 4 Jaw chuck would be a great addition and add a lot of versatility as well as simplify my way to becoming a well seasoned turner BUT I have heard you can do everything you need with face plates and a chuck isn't necessary. I learn a lot and very well from watching others on YouTube and then taking those ideas/approaches over to my shop and just play on the lathe to figure it out, which makes me hesitant to pay for a class, but am I being naive to think that I can just pick this up all self-taught? The bowl turning tools will obviously be important but is it something I should do now or will I get a better bang for my buck by focusing on making pens and other spindle type turnings for now?

What are your thoughts? What have you found great value in as you learned the craft?

Thanks,

Gnardar

·
Registered
4,801 Posts
Since it's already an option on your list, take a turning class. You'll get so much more from having an experienced turner help you that it will be money well spent.

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts