Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm a hobbyist woodworker and am in the market for a mortiser for use on table legs and modest sized joints in a variety of woods, mostly cherry and walnut. It won't get a whole lot of use, but I am tired of chiseling mortises by hand.

Grizzly offers two low-end mortisers: 1. Model G0645 with a 1/2 hp motor and four chisels included; and 2. Model G9976 with a 3/4 hp motor and no chisels. The G9976 has a Shop Fox name, is that the same as Grizzly?

I can't really tell which has the better bed and hold downs, but the G9976 seems to have slightly more capacity for larger boards.

Both units are priced at $245. Any recommendations as to which is the better value?

Thanks,

Kevin H.

·
where's my table saw?
27,741 Posts
These links?

http://www.grizzly.com/products/Mortising-Machine/G9976

http://www.grizzly.com/products/1-2-HP-Bench-Top-Mortising-Machine/G0645

Major difference is the shop Fox has a 3/4HP motor turning at 3450 RPM, The Grizz has a 1/2 HP turning at 1750.

Myself, I got a Powermatic with a 3/4HP motor tuning at 1750.
I want the slower speed to avoid overheating the bits. A variable speed would have been ideal. A 1/2 Hp motor should have plenty of power, even for 3/4" bits. (NOT FOR THIS MACHINE.... duh) You might call Grizzly tech and ask them which one and why. ;) bill

Reactions: mdntrdr

·
Registered
221 Posts
My suggestion is to cut mortises without a mortiser, and use the money for something else.

That said, when I buy "heavy" equipment, I always buy the heaviest, most powerful, highest end piece possible, and I always try to go one level above what I'm "certain" I'll ever need.

Because somehow, I always seem to need the big one five years on.

·
where's my table saw?
27,741 Posts

·
Registered
644 Posts