Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've posted the following message in the General Wood Section, but my question seems to be more a finishing question now:

I'm a high school student building an outdoor bar in my backyard. Everything has gone smoothly, but I'm debating on what to make the countertop out of. My family just redid our kitchen and we have all of this tongue and groove cherry wood left over. Not being too experienced with wood, I'm not sure if cherry can be put outdoors. While mostly under a roof, the counter would be exposed to rain and the New Jersey climate. I would definitely coat it with some preserver or sealer (monthly/yearly if I needed to), but some people I've talked to said cherry is not supposed to be outside. I want to be careful and I don't want to build the counter then have it be ruined in a year so any information would be greatly appreciated.

I've received answers in this forum and others, and most seem to agree that cherry can be used outside, but that it's just a matter of what to preserve it with. Someone suggested Spar marine varnish?? Someone in another forum gave some negatives to using Spar and suggested to paint it with a clear finish-I think (Here's the link: http://community.woodmagazine.com/dgroups/index.jsp?plckForumPage=ForumDiscussion&plckDiscussionId=Cat%3a8068d542-84e7-4789-9133-cb8743c46c54Forum%3a0dfd8ffc-8454-4518-a922-9eab1aed8cf1Discussion%3acbdd3b35-ef15-4729-941e-5e994902c749 ) Any more opinions on the matter would be great. Thanks for the help

·
Registered
4,690 Posts