Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Very first real wood project!

I have construction experience, I can frame, design roofs, etc. I built my own home and garage. I have layed out and installed 3 kitchens. I am a mechanical engineer and I am currently a lighting designer. I am active over at DIY on the construction/carpentry forums.

But, I have never really been exposed to fine woodworking. I have a 50" Hitachi big screen that I want to "dress up." I found some plans for two audio cabinets with a bridge. I'm building it out of cherry.

Keep in mind that I am buying and learning how to use equipment on my own. In most cases I probably am making due without the right equipment even.

encouragement and constructive criticism accepted. :yes:

·
Registered
354 Posts
Looks pretty good to me! And I imagine you've enjoyed the smell of cutting cherry a lot more than pine.

I never took formal classes and learned everything on my own too. Forums like this are the most valuable resource I've seen since you get real hands-on experience rather than theory.

I must warn you however that if you mention staining the cherry you'll be electronically horse-whipped on any forum.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
FINALLY Complete! OK, well still adding stereo comps

OK, i finally finished my first cabinet project ever! And, sorry I did stain and poly it to match the house!

Stereo is not in left cabinet yet at time of photos.

Adding center channel speakers under the bridge.

Attachments

·
Andrew Close
280 Posts
wow, that's sharp. not too shabby for your 'first fine woodworking' project. and that definitely is some fine woodworking :smile:

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Cherry