Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

My name is Matt, I'm an IT professional here in Cleveland (right on the lake, downtown). I've done everything from digging footers to laying block, to doing carpentry/wiring/plumbing/gas lines for kitchens/bathrooms/bedrooms/etc, to tearoff and resheeting/roofing, to barn repair, to well pump installation, to installing windows/doors/ramps, you name it. In short, I've put my hands on almost every aspect of home ownership I can imagine, whether with friends and family or on my own, but I've yet to do any true fine woodworking.

I'm in the process of force-feeding my brain as much as it can learn over the next few weeks, then starting some projects. Tomorrow night I am making a long drive out to pick up a Delta table saw I spotted used, and I'm trolling the local used adds for a solid router (hoping to get a decent one with a 1/2" collet), as well as a miter saw or more ideally a radial arm saw. I'll be building my benches and feed table, reorganizing my basement and preparing to launch into a few years worth of work!

My short term goals are to learn my way around Sketchup, read as many back-issues of Woodsmith, watch as many videos and read these forums (and others) heavily and strike up conversations as I come up with questions.

I already appreciate the many veteran craftsmen on this site, and look forward to getting my hands dusty and my camera to work as I share my adventures with the community!

-Matt

·
Registered
133 Posts
Matt, Welcome to this great DIY site. :thumbsup:

Lots of experience here so don't be shy, ask questions and keep your camera charged up.

Always good to see a local guy join in.

·
Curmudgeon in Training
824 Posts