Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My lathe headstock has adjustable bearings and I have it set so that the headstock and tailstock centers touch, but I'd like to check it over the length of the bed. I've never been able to find anything made for that purpose. Asking here if anyone has devised a method for checking centers and parallelism.

Being an engineer I tend to get anal about such things... I'm thinking of maybe a laser mounted in a #2MT.. just can't find one.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
300 Posts
I'm not an engineer but have wondered the same thing. I have been thinking along the same lines with a laser mounted in the tailstock but haven't come up with anything that I thought was noteworthy.

However, happened to see this http://www.executivegiftshoppe.com/ls-2210b.html?gclid=CJC03sfs6bkCFUdo7AodXCMAsg in a search and wondered if it would work if mounted in a piece of wood turned to a MT2.

Just a thought.

·
Registered
396 Posts
If they line up at the head stock they should be in alignment the length of the bed. Unless there is a problem with the ways or bed along its length.

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
I agree with preach and I also wouldnt worry about it. Check the bed with a straight edge if you must.

The closest thing I can think of to what your looking for is a bore sighter for sighting scopes on a gun. They typically come with several differeny adapters to fit differnt calibers of guns. I would think maybe one of the ones for a shotgun might fight. Just do a google search for laser bore sight.

·
7,222 Posts
Do an internet search for laser bore sight or similar string.

I recall seeing a post on some forum, not this one, where the laser sight was designed to be mounted in a drill chuck for determining run out of the chuck.

If you get one, you may also be able to tell if the headstock has any run out compared to the tailstock at the end of the lathe.

·
Registered
3,257 Posts