Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I do woodworking in half of my garage, and I'm pretty new to this. I don't have any form of dust collection - not even a shop vac. I'd like to change that, but I don't have much money to spend. Does anyone have any recommendations about the best inexpensive solution to the problem?

The main place I need to collect dust is at my old Craftsman 113 table saw.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
If you're on a tight budget, my suggestion would be to put a bag under the saw's cabinet, right under that big hole that should be there (this is a contractor saw?) Then buy a shop vac until budget allows something bigger. You'll need a vac anyway, and as luck would have Lowes always has one for cheap in their black Friday ad. Consider upgrading the filter on the vac, if you can find a Gore Clean Stream that fit's it it provides near HEPA performance at a fair price, $30 or so.

·
Registered
489 Posts
You can get a 2 Hp Harbor Freight DC for less than $200.00 and even get a 25% off coupon to lower the price even more. Their 1 Hp is less than $100.00. Both work great. :)

·
Sawdust Wrangler
482 Posts
You can get a 2 Hp Harbor Freight DC for less than $200.00 and even get a 25% off coupon to lower the price even more. Their 1 Hp is less than $100.00. Both work great. :)
I agree with tvman. The harbor freight 2 horse is a great starting DC. As you get a little more money ahead, replace the bag on top with a wynn environmental filter kit for that DC. That way you won't be allowing the finest of particles, that the canvas bag cannot capture, back out into your room.

Paul

·
Registered
376 Posts