Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There is a charnwood table saw I am interested from theyre new 2007 range, charnwood W614. I have very little knowledge about tablesaws,
can anyone tell me if there is anything that stands out as bad or good about it? Or better still if they have used it.. there are no reviews at least I cant find any.
If you know what are the best budget table saws, top I want to spend is 200 really because im just a hobbier, and I know I cant get a quality saw for this.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Hi Dave, I did a LOT of research before buying my first table saw a couple years ago and I never came across Charnwood. I just googled it and I must say that is a very interesting saw and with a 2hp rating. All I can say, and I could very well be wrong, is do not expect things to work as advertised for that amount of money. But if you do get your hands on one let us know what you think. I'ld love to hear about it. Good luck and watch your fingers.

·
Forgotten but not gone
5,674 Posts
Welcome dave. I have to agree with aaron.

I will also add that even without getting my hands on it I can tell the fence is inadequate at best, and probably really sloppy. At 39kg (86 pounds), the machine is also extremely lightweight for a table saw of practically any HP. Even quality benchtop table saws weigh more than that.

Nothing that is that cheap can possibly be satisfactory even for hobby level woodworking, IMHO. I could be all wrong because it has happened a time or two before . . . . :glare:

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys your opinions are valued. What sort differences are we talking about when it comes to cheaper saws over more quality/expensive ones, if you can pin point them?

·
Registered
35 Posts