Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Super Moderator
5,363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been watching a few videos of turning with carbide tip tools. Do any of you fellows have these tools? How do you like them? What are the bar stock made of, cold roll steel or other?

·
Premium Member
5,295 Posts
I bought the 3 main styles about a month ago or so at around $100 each. At the time, neither WoodCraft nor Rockler had the set of 3. They cut real well but takes a while to get used to them - maybe a couple of hours of practice. They dig in really easy so you must use a really light touch and try to extend the tip as little as possible over the tool rest.
I ;prefer the standard bowl gouge and use the carbide tips for difficult areas to reach. They are scrapers with a small cutting area (small tip).They have their place.
The standard bowl gouge with a hollow grind cuts faster smoother and is easier to control.
I am new to carbide tipped tools and so I am not an expert on them.

·
Premium Member
5,295 Posts
I assume he did since I never heard of carbon tipped tools.

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
I was wondering whether he meant "carbon steel" tools, which preceded high speed steel.

Some companies make high speed steel replaceable cutters in various shapes (e.g., mushroom), like the ones by Sorby.

-> My assumption was that he meant carbide tips.

Carbide Turning Tools:

I have a set of three Rockler full size carbide turning tools: Square Radius, Round, and Diamond. I use square tips on the square radius holder. It is a very close fit, good enough, but not perfect.

I wish I had bought the Easy Wood Tools models instead. Why? Because in addition to the standard carbide cutters, Easy Wood Tools also makes their patented negative rake cutters that fit the same tool handles. Those patented negative rake cutters are not available elsewhere, and won't fit my Rockler tools.