Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been planning this build for 6 months, my teenage daughter has been patiently waiting for me to get started on this project. With the wife and kids out of town for 2 days, it was the perfect opportunity for me to get started. This is my first build thread and it feels really good to be in the shop making dust. I especially enjoy the problem solving aspects of design and construction.

I am fairly new to WW so this is a huge build for me and I will encounter a lot of firsts for me.

The first thing I learned is that the electrical going to my shop (more if a shed really) is wholly inadequate. I tripped the breaker several times running my TS and small dust collector at the same time. I finally did something bad to the circuit and have no electricity at all on one of the circuits. Not wanting to waste the opportunity of the house to myself, I ran an extension cord from the house and proceeded to cut some wood.

image-1171549563.jpg

Here is the first of 2 rails for the bed. I am building this thing to be substantial and to last a long time. The frame is 6/4 hard maple with 3/4 for the panels. This was my first time making a tongue and groove joint, and while its not perfect, I'm happy with the results.

I also got a lot done on the foot board. Also 6/4 maple with ply for the panel. I also used a lock miter bit (first for me as well) to join 4" square posts. Every time I used the router with this huge lock miter bit, my lights kept flickering. I had an electrician on the way to upgrade to 240v and to make sure the electrical service is adequate.

image-11279143.jpg

I found that my router table was not very accommodating to such a large bit, so I used sort of a sub table under my fence so I could get the edge of the bit below the piece I was routing. What a pain.

image-3153989985.jpg