1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I want to make a little box of wood,

http://images04.olx.com/ui/1/31/82/4892982_1.jpg

Can I make the wood looks like this one, because it's beautiful?

It's from Oak. Please any kind of information how to accomplish the same effect, would be very welcome!

I have zero knowledge about this field, and I've made my registration here only for that =)

Best Wishes.

·
Registered
994 Posts
For the side of a small box, details like the piano has would be easiest to CNC out of the wood used. On the piano they probably created the details by building it up in layers, with the innermost carving applied to the inner panel rather than cut from it.

To emulate the color, consider that the piano is showing a patina acquired from age, and is probably darker now than it was originally. A walnut or mahogany stain (mixed together maybe?) on red oak should get you close.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks a lot for the replies,

The Piano is more than 50 years old, and the post is serious!

I want to learn how to do the same appearance of the oak from the picture, but I have no clue how to do it. Because I have no knowledge in the matter. Cabinetman, thanks for the welcome. :smile:

4D, CNC is a machine?

George, Yes = )

Best Wishes

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
4D thinker, I've just saw the machine, it looks awesome, congratulations for owning that cutie, but is it easy to work with it?

The most important for me is, that it doesn't require a lot of skills to operate by my hand = )

·
Registered
3,339 Posts
The only handwork you'll have to do is at your computer keyboard

·
Registered
13 Posts
Alot of educational centres, colleges, etc. with a well founded carpentry program have CNC routers and may do some work for you.

Its one way I have learned to benefit from this marvel of technology without having to pay the price of admission and give up alot of shop space.

·