Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
Lots of the guys here use Google Sketchup. Its free. It even has a dedicated forum here. I have downloaded it and played around with it. Its a really cool program but I dont have the ability to figure it out without someone showing me how to use it.

·
Registered
644 Posts
I use Auto Cad Lt but it's not free. It took me a while to learn it since I am computer illegitimate. I payed $800.00 for the program and $30.00 for the book from barnes & noble "Auto Cad and Auto Cad Lt no experience required". It's a 14 chapter book, I read and worked through the first 7 chapters (3 times) and got just what i needed to do shop drawings. For what it's worth to anyone it was well worth the investment.

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
Not weird at all. I think thats why I am having so much trouble with that program. I studied architecture all through high school and a little college. 90% of my work was 2D stuff and not on a computer program. I still get out all my old drafting tools from college to draw up my plans.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Here is a decent tutorial on
. Here is the
and
video in the beginner's series. If there is anything that you wanna know about SketchUp you can just do a YouTube search for it and there will probably be a pretty good video on it. It's a pretty tough program to get grasp of, I'm just getting started using it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
A SketchUp Project I'm Working On

Here is a picture of an entertainment center that I'm planning on building that I drew with SketchUp