Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
I am relatively new to woodworking and would like to graduate from my $150 aluminum top Sears table saw to something more appropriate for serious woodworking. Since most of you have been very generous with sharing your wisdom and experience, I was going to ask you what I should do to upgrade to a serious saw.

My table saw has the following issues:

• It's throat plate was not designed to build zero clearance inserts. There's 1/8" between the notches and tables, meaning that the plates I was able to build are fragile and prone to getting knocked out by the blade on startup.
  • There's only like 8" of table before the blade, making it very difficult to make most cuts safely
  • The fence doesn't really line up too consistently.
My assumption is that these issues will go away when I buy a nicer saw.

I've had a difficult time making good cuts with the saw, especially due to the lack of space on the table and fence before the blade, I really haven't been able to make perfectly straight cuts in plywood.

I'd like to go with the least expensive table saw I could safely use. This is in a basement, so I obviously could not go with a full-sized cabinet saw as it would never get in the door.

Sears sells a bunch in the $500-$800 range that look like they'll do the trick. However, I have a hunch I should look at other places as well.

So...

Where should I look for saws? Right now, I can afford something around $600 (before shipping/tax). Should I save up my money and get a more expensive saw? Are they worth it? (as opposed to spending the money on wood, clamps, etc).

I assume I should go with something that:

• is designed for zero clearance plates
  • has a cast iron top
  • where the fence seems stable/high-quality
  • has dust collection
Should I consider other aspects?