Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well the time has finally come where the wife and I decided to venture on to a new and hopefully larger home. I am very new to wood working so I would like to ask what should I look for wood working wise in a new home? Things like space, electricity and lighting are a given but anything else you can think of that would prevent me 10 years from down the road shaking my head thinking what was I thinking?

·
Registered
303 Posts
I would add separation from the living area to keep dust from penetrating those areas. Also, preventing dust from entering the furnace. Ample head room is nice. Enough length to the room to be able to work long pieces of wood. Enough width to spin a board around. Windows that open. An access door directly to the shop. No water problems from sewer drain back-up or water from the walls (basement). Humidity control. Plenty of outlets and enough amps for all the machines. Sound control (keep the wife and kids happy). A place to change shoes and clothes so you don't drag dust to the living area...a bathroom so you don't have to go to the living area in your dirty clothes.

·
Registered
137 Posts
Also, preventing dust from entering the furnace.
Actually, my plumber made a point of this. My work area is right by my boiler and I had (then) no dust collection and poor sweeping habits. Every time the thing fired, it sucked combustible dust into it, with bad results for the long-term health of the boiler.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
good info thank you, not sure what kind of house in my area would have a "spray room" though lol. distance from a boiler is a good thing to think about. I now have a detached garage but will probably end up having an attached garage. Sound proofing will prob have to be an after market task.

·
Old Methane Gas Cloud
3,500 Posts
Based upon your location, Rochester, NY.