Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

I'm new to the forum. I've been reading through many posts but this is my first official one. I have become very interested in milling!

I'm very seriously considering buying a portable sawmill, Probably a new Woodmizer LT28. Anyways, I will give you my situation and see if you agree with my plan or have any advice.

Currently I run a landscape company as a side job with my brother and some friends. I'm a teacher so I have summers off. We have a lot of equipment including a 2007 John Deere Ct322. We regularly cut down trees, mostly oak and pine in my area, and cut it into firewood. (Pine we pay to get rid of) My thought was instead of firewood I would mill the boards, dry them in a solar kiln, and plane/joint them to sell to furniture shops, cabinet makers, hobbyists, etc. We usually charge to cut down the trees and I would be able to keep all of the wood we cut. I can cut it into any lengths and the max width a LT28 goes is 32'' diameter.

So my question is, does this sound like a viable plan? Will I get interest from people who would buy my lumber? Should I take a class on lumber grading? (I have been watching many videos and reading many articles on this) Sorry about the long post, I just want some of your thoughts and opinions. Thank you very much.

-Dave

·
Registered
288 Posts
I'd say it's viable. Given that you have a landscaping outfit & get to cut a lot of trees, I assume you cut most in or around town? Lots of urban trees have great figure & it's not uncommon to find burls. If you can somewhat regularly cut figured wood, then you'll have some lumber worth selling. The rest can still be cut for firewood. I wouldn't expect an instant return on investment, but then that really depends on the volume and quality of wood you're cutting.