Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, so I am new to woodworking and I am dealing with the "wife factor"... I can't spend a bunch of money on tools I don't already own. Just not financially feasible right now.

I don't own a table saw or router, plainer or joiner. I do have pretty much every other hand tool and most common power tools available.

I am making a book shelf with adjustable shelves utilizing the shelving pins that are 1/4". I have already cut all my pieces to size, drilled all the holes and I am at a loss as what type of joining I should do next.

I don't want a bunch of visible nail holes/screw holes. I want it to look professional. I will be casing the front out with 1x2's more than likely to cover any nail holes/screws.

This is my first "done right" piece of furniture. Most of all the other stuff I have made gets painted and I can hide with wood filler.

I utilized 3/4" FIR plywood as oak was not available.

I know many frown on biscuit joints/dowel joints and pocket screwing... So with that in mind and with what tools I have, how would I accomplish a professional looking cabinet?

The bottom picture is more realistic of what the cabinet will look like when done. The top was just for giving me dimensions so I knew what to get for my cut sheet.

I was thinking of pocket screwing the top shelf to the sides from the top (will be hidden by countertop), pocket screwing and gluing from the bottom side of the 2 shelves into the side panels.... all joints would have glue.

I own a kreg jig and I am familiar utilizing it...

Again, I know I am going to get bashed for even suggesting pocket screws... So looking for alternatives and that's why I am here. :)

Anything I can learn would help.

I also know the other common method is a finish nailer and glue... I have those tools as well.

Attachments

·
Registered
33 Posts