Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, I'm a newbie here and this is my first post.

That said, I've been looking at cedar fences here in CT and at about $275 for an 8 foot panel, post and post cap my standard comment is 'for those prices I could build them myself for a lot less!', so I started looking around.

My material estimate/ 8 foot panel is:
16 - 6 foot 1X6 pickets
1 - 9 foot 5X5 end post
1 - 8 foot 1X2 top cap that sits over the pickets

and I'm not sure about the cross pieces. I could use 2X4s, but the nicer fences have them rounded and they look much classier...

I know I can get the pickets for around $6 each, but that feels high
No luck anywhere with 5X5s

I'm just wondering if
- anybody ever done this themselves? would you do it again?
- anyone knows some good wood sources (probably mills) in the CT area?
- or even further if they have the right prices and can ship at a resonable price
- how about 5X5s? 4X4s don't look as good, but perhaps I should go with 6X6s?

all comments welcome

-mark

·
Registered
13,114 Posts
Building your fence should be problem if you are at all handy.

Do not know about prices in your part of the world.

It is unusual to see a "cap" on the top of the pickets. At least where I have lived.

You do not need a 5x5. A 4x4 is the standard post, in the middle and at the ends. Yes, 2x4 are the standard "cross pieces" that are known as rails. Rounded is a matter of taste/design. You can do that with a router. Using two or three rails is a matter of design.

You also need concrete to set the post into for stability. You can mix your own or buy ready mix.

George

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·