Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all

Got a chance to get my hands on a bunch of old bowling alley lanes.

It's gotta be at least 6/4, probably 8/4, and of course, it's smooth as a baby's butt. I believe it's tongue and groove.

Crazy, I know, but I'm thinking that it might be good stuff to play with for a few projects, (table top and platform bed to name two, a workbench top to name three,) but has anyone ever worked with old bowling alley wood?

What kind of wood is generally used for them? Will the years of constant oiling create any issue with final finishing? Is it even worth my time to even mess with the stuff?

Thanks...

·
Registered
4,690 Posts
Maple.........I believe is the prefered lumber.......
Ditto. BB I would snag as much as you can. I worked as a plumbing sub for a general contractor that tore down an old bowling alley to build a new outpatient medical facility. They carefully took the lanes up and the general sold the wood for a good deal of money.
It was weird hard maple could be bought for $2.50 bft...but he was getting $5 because people wanted a "story" behind their projects (ones like you mentioned work benches, big farm style dining tables...)
I can't answer the finishing question, you got me there. I guess you will just have to grab it and find out. I personally would not let it get away though.

·
Registered
2,276 Posts
Pretty sure it would be maple. I would think that even if the top surface had been oiled, the under side should still take any kind of finish you wanted. For some reason I always thought that bowling alleys had a type of varnish finish. I could be totally off base, but at the worst, it would be some kind of drying oil, so it probably could still have another finish applied to it. Grab as much as you can. It's too good to pass up.

Gerry

·
Registered
5,445 Posts