Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I finally got to woodcraft and picked some stuff up.
I've been promising the lady a bookshelve for a few months now but I needed a dado set. All the pieces are ready I just needed to cut the joints.
*I picked up an 8" freud set

I also picked up a 3 piece router bit set for cabinet doors. (SWEET!!) I'm going to have to get a router with some more hp for the panel bit though.

And last I got a V-Notch Tongue and groove bit. The regular tongue and groove was kind of boring. It's a woodcraft brand but it seemed ok from looks. I tested it out this afternoon and I'm going to have to add a 1/8" cutter to it. The V is too deep in the 3/4 wood so it leaves a 1/8 straight before the v starts which is different looking but a bit too deep for me.

Attachments

·
Registered
208 Posts
Good Idea regarding the larger router for the panel bit, that things a bear. Before I got a larger router, I had to do panels in several passes. raising the height a bit each time. If your going to do alot of it, a shaper is the way to go.

·
Registered
45 Posts
I have been using my table saw to raise panels lateley. Made a jig and it is so much faster than 3-4 passes on a router table. You do need to sand , but it is still faster and easier.

·
Registered
419 Posts
Doors with routers?