Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My wife surprised me tonight with the newest addition to my tool family (I am brand new to woodworking.) She brought home the Bosch 1617EVSPK, which I had done a lot of research on and mentioned it to my dad, and a 30pc Skil router bit set for $100. She knew the router was good because of my dad but only went off the Lowes guy's recommendation for the bit set. She immediately told me she wouldn't be offended if I found the bits to be poor quality and returned it.

I've done some research and have found that they are generally on the lower middle end. They are also only 1/4" and my router takes both 1/4" and 1/2"; I've read where 1/2" is much more desirable. I found that MLCSwoodworking.com is a good source for good quality bits and further found their 45 piece set for the same price as this 30 piece. Would it be worth me returning the Skil set and purchasing the MLCS set? Is there another brand I should be looking at? Also, is it worth shelling out another $90 for the 66pc set? I am very new to woodworking and will only be doing it as a hobby but I don't want to shoot myself in the foot by wishing I had paid now rather than later.

Thanks!

·
John
3,028 Posts
My wife surprised me tonight with the newest addition to my tool family (I am brand new to woodworking.) She brought home the Bosch 1617EVSPK, which I had done a lot of research on and mentioned it to my dad, and a 30pc Skil router bit set for $100. She knew the router was good because of my dad but only went off the Lowes guy's recommendation for the bit set. She immediately told me she wouldn't be offended if I found the bits to be poor quality and returned it.