Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm refinishing an old cabinet that has been in my family for many years. The top is oak (added onto the original top at some point) and the body of the cabinet is maple, I believe. I stripped the old finish and then sanded using 60, 220, 400, and then 1000 sand paper for the finishing. I'm happy with the look of the body of the cabinet, but I'm not happy with the top. I don't mind the dark spots (caused by water damage over the years), but I'm unhappy with the "blotchy" overall appearance. I've been coating the sanded surface with natural danish wood oil, waiting 48 hours, then lightly sanding and reapplying the oil. I've done this 3 times, but the blotching remains. Was I too hasty when I sanded the top? I stopped when black specks began appearing in some areas of the oak grain. I was afraid I was sanding too much, but maybe I needed to continue? I'm new to this, so any help you can provide would be much appreciated. Thanks!

·
Old School
24,027 Posts

Looking at that picture I can't tell what it is. It looks like a slab of wood in a box. Is that the top that's supposed to be Oak? Is it supposed to have a finish with some color? Where is the rest of the cabinet?

When you sanded, 60x is way too coarse, and anything over 220x made the wood too smooth to take a finish. The finish you used is an oil varnish mix. At this stage I would use a chemical stripper (MC based...methylene chloride), and start over.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, that's the cabinet's oak top in the first photo. Here is another photo, at a different angle. Could you recommend the grades of sandpaper I should use when starting over? Thanks for your help.

·
where's my table saw?
27,749 Posts
maybe you stopped sanding too soon?

It would seem the blotchy coloring may be a result of the old finish remaining underneath and not taking the oil (stain) evenly.