Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for soem blanks for turning duck calls. I am new to turning but this is the wood I have already. Walnut, PurpleHear, Osage, Burled Maple, Claro Walnut, Rosewood. Any suggestions would be great.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Turning blanks

A father and son business that sells on Ebay sells turning blanks. They sell under canebranch36 and hornmountainwoods. There prices are fair and varity is excellent. We share wood. I like the lumber and they like the crotch and burl.

·
Registered
344 Posts
I'm guessing you are looking for pieces 1-1/2" to 3" in diameter. Where are you located? There's probably more local exotics around you than you can shake a stick at. Take a walk in your local woods. Study even the common species. Look for unusual forms and growths. Bring along a tree id field guide so you can tell what it is you are bringing home. It's easier to spot the unusual forms in the winter but harder to id the trees. Bring along a small chainsaw and/or a good pruning saw and gather what interest you. There's a lot out there. It can be both an adventure and good learning experience.

This reminds me that Daren teased us with photos of a smoke tree he harvested some small turning blanks from. I wanted to see how the colors came out after drying. He had a blue/gray and a orange/yellow(?) Hey Daren - get it togather! :bangin:

·
Registered
35 Posts
How about American Holly (ilex opaca), a creamy white relatively hard homogenious wood. Also consider dogwood, also hard, but more colorful and can have some drop dead beautiful figure. Both are hard to find, but can be harvested locally around here. I have a little of both.

·
Registered
4,702 Posts
This reminds me that Daren teased us with photos of a smoke tree he harvested some small turning blanks from. I wanted to see how the colors came out after drying. He had a blue/gray and a orange/yellow(?)