Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a couple lots of rough cut black walnut at our woodworkers auction last fall with the thought of using it for baby furniture (crib, changing table etc) and cutting boards. Now I'm learning that walnut may trigger allergic reactions so it may not be a good choice for these applications. Any thoughts? As a beginner I always thought walnut was a much sought after species, so what can I use it for without causing reactions, especially in infants?

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
Walnut is by far my favorite species. I have used it in about a dozen or so cutting boards, and haven't had anyone have a reaction from it. I'm sure others will chime in with some more useful tips, but I'm sure you could do a couple of google searches and find out what you need to know.

If you won't be using it, feel free to send it my way!!!

·
Registered
187 Posts
Walnut Uses

Walnut is one of my favorite woods. I have made many cutting boards, bowls, wine stoppers and a baby cradle from walnut and never had a problem. The baby is now 38 with no problems.

Bandman

·
Registered
3,174 Posts
beautiful wood, no doubt. the thorn in that rosebush is that it has toxic charateristics.

some that i have read about: the sawdust is toxic to human lungs (where dust masks), and can be absorbed by horse hoofs (don't use for bedding), and the tree itself makes the ground toxic, killing some pants (don't place near vegetable garden).

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
I purchased a couple lots of rough cut black walnut at our woodworkers auction last fall with the thought of using it for baby furniture (crib, changing table etc) and cutting boards. Now I'm learning that walnut may trigger allergic reactions so it may not be a good choice for these applications. Any thoughts? As a beginner I always thought walnut was a much sought after species, so what can I use it for without causing reactions, especially in infants?