Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. This black walnut that fell last summer keeps on giving! My last project is this desk. I'll post a pic of the top, and then the base which I bought on ebay, it's from an old industrial sewing machine.

My question is, the more curved edge of the desk I always presumed would be the front, where I sit. But as I sand this and get to know it, I'm kind of in love with the straighter live edge. The base as you can see is not symmetrical, so it matters what I decide to be the front and back of the top.

I started thinking, the main thing that will sit on the desk is a largish computer monitor (I'm a graphic designer). So to me, it almost makes sense to have that curve in the back of the desk where the monitor will sit.

Opinions? I mean, do you look at that top and think very clearly that the more curved edge belongs in front?

Oh that board on the sawhorses will be a stringer (?) that goes between the two base pieces, in the back. Making it even more definitively one direction.

Thanks.
Ed.

Attachments

·
7,222 Posts
Nice looking table. Good way to use that walnut.

I think conventional design approach would place the curved edge at the front.

The distance between you and the monitor is likely the same whether the curve is at the front or back.

The nice aspect of a custom design is that you can chose which way works for you.

By the way, did you glue on the bread board end pieces? This is a large table top. It is going to move with changes in the seasons. If the bread board ends are glued on, something will have to give to allow the movement. Pieces like this are best glued in the centre, but attached in some method to allow the table top to expand and contract with the seasonal changes.

I expect your shop is higher humidity than the office where you will use the table so initially some moisture is likely to be lost.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3