Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I have a Dewalt router (the one that comes with the three bases). I'm new to woodworking and have been using the plunge attachment to route some dados for the cabinet I am building.

I set the plunge depth to 1/4" by using the Kreg spacer bars. I confirmed the depth by plunging, locking the router and used a digital bit depth gauge which read .251.

After I made the dado, I used the digital bit depth thingy and it read .200. When I use the Kreg bar I can see that there is a slight gap between the bottom of the bar and the bottom of the dado.

I should add that I am checking the bit height by setting the bottom of the digital depth thingy on the top of the bit blade. Meaning, I am touching it to the very top of the blade. But even so, I am using the 1/4" Kreg bar between the plunge mechanism and the depth stop (sorry, I don't know if I am using the the right terminology).

Am I doing something wrong? Is the amount I am off in normal tolerances?

Thanks!

N

·
7,222 Posts
I do a measurement and also a test cut in a piece of scrap.

The cut rules. :yes:

Set the bit height by whatever means, then make a test cut. I then use a fractional dial caliper to measure the depth of the cut not a digital.

http://www.grizzly.com/products/Fractional-Dial-Caliper/D3208

Tweak the bit height setting if needed and do another test cut to confirm.

A digital measuring device is accurate only if used in decimal or metric display. If you use with a fractional display, the actual measurement is rounded to the closest 1/64in similar to this chart.

http://www.seoconsultants.com/charts/inches-decimal/

·
bzguy
581 Posts
Not sure what your digital thingy is but .05" is almost 1/16th, unacceptable for precision work.
I have gotten by without a lot of "thingies", confirm it with a normal tape measure by "burning an inch".