Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I'm new to the forums here. I'm a novice, but far from new to woodworking, but I've recently taken it back up as a hobby. I hope that I can learn a lot here and maybe improve my craft/hobby skills.

But I have a problem that has reached a critical point, hence the forum post. I've done a lot of searching and asking around but I really can't find a straight answer. So I'm hoping I can get some insight here.

I've started a project that I began with a lot of passion for. I'm making a sword. I'm using 1/4" red oak boards. But here is the problem... my wood curled. Now I think I know why. I live in Hawaii. Unfortunately I could not find 1/4 lumber on this island or anyone who would do it for me. So I had to order it from the mainland. (Ridiculous I know). So the wood probably underwent a bit of a humidity change and I didn't do enough to acclimatize my wood properly.

Now for the plans I have the wood, at least the wood I will use for the "blade" MUST be straight as an arrow.

So my questions are thus:

Is it naive of me to think I can get arrow-straight 1/4 hardwood?

Is there a way I can economically, perhaps even cheaply fix this?

·
Sawdust Creator
8,047 Posts
It's going to be pretty hard to keep long thin boards straight.

You might try quarter sawn wood. It's the most stable of any cut method.

·
Registered
209 Posts
I would think you are going to have to let it acclimate and mill it afterward. I don't think there is a way around it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I would think you are going to have to let it acclimate and mill it afterward. I don't think there is a way around it.
I was thinking the same thing. What is the most efficient way to do that?

What thickness would be best to start with? I don't want to produce mass amounts of waste just to get a 1/4 board.