Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
10 whole fingers
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

This is my first post here, but I'm really excited. I'm a web developer and haven't touched a woodworking tool to build something by myself since I was a kid(15-20 years ago).

My dad recently passed away unexpectedly back in December and I inherited the wood shop. I usually work ridiculous hours, and therefore haven't had much time for things to sink in. Long story short, I spent the last four months clearing my schedule so I could find time to complete a project my dad and I were planning on working on this summer. I think a little R&R in the shop will do me some good. My dad and I were really close so it's been hard.

My goal is to build a set of night stands and a hidden gun compartment headboard for my bed. The only problem is, I want it to actually turn out nice so I have a lot of questions. I can handle the measurements and the cuts, it's the wisdom questions I get hung up on. What woods should I use? Should I dovetail corners and groove shelves? Can I mix and match woods to cut down on cost? If I go with oak, can I stain it dark or will that hide the natural beauty of the wood?

I'm leaning towards some really nice (oak) boards, but I was thinking if I can get away with it, I might switch to something cheaper for the parts that can't be seen.

I'm going to start with the more ambitious of the three, the headboard. I'm in the process of re-drawing it. A hard drive crash (also in December) took out my previous 3DS Max files. I just finished plugging in the mattress to spec. It's going to be a headboard with shelves, overhead reading lights, a large mirror, plugs for quick charging, and have the ability to quickly access a concealed tactical shotgun as well as two pistols.