Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
803 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As you may or may not know I'm a guitar builder. I have absolutely NO idea what I should charge for this. 1300 SQ' record store some existing racks...have to build more. I don't want to under sell myself but I REALLY wanna give the guy a deal as it's in a high traffic area and I could get more work out of it.
Any starting hourly wage would help. He's already agreed to material costs.

·
Registered
113 Posts
My shop rate starts at $75 per man hour for custom fabrication. The first rule is never cut your price to get work that "will" lead to more work.

Having done retail display work, I think you might be surprised to find out how much that stuff costs. A decent cash wrap in the $7-10,000 range wouldn't be unusual.

If you want, post some details and maybe it would be easier to give a decent price range.

·
Registered
803 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
:blink: Wow!!! That much huh??? We're gonna barter for some free shop space in the basement in exchange for labor.

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
My shop rate starts at $75 per man hour for custom fabrication. The first rule is never cut your price to get work that "will" lead to more work.

Having done retail display work, I think you might be surprised to find out how much that stuff costs. A decent cash wrap in the $7-10,000 range wouldn't be unusual.

If you want, post some details and maybe it would be easier to give a decent price range.
Damn, I ain't charging enough.:no:

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
As you may or may not know I'm a guitar builder. I have absolutely NO idea what I should charge for this. 1300 SQ' record store some existing racks...have to build more. I don't want to under sell myself but I REALLY wanna give the guy a deal as it's in a high traffic area and I could get more work out of it.