Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone

I have been on the forum for a couple of months now and realized I never did a intro. I am new to workworking. I decided to build some simple..SIMPLE shelves for my son's room. Basically a rectangle shaped box without one side. Took me a week with a circular saw and drill and I had a blast. Did some research on the internet and found the awesome and larger world of woodworking. The guys on this forum are amazing and I thank you all for the guidance and help. I now have a sliding miter saw, router w/table and working on doing a super tune up on my 70s Craftsman table saw. I am 40, married with 2 younger kids, I am in Software Sales and live just north of NYC.

Adam

·
Registered
3,248 Posts
Hey, Adam. Welcome to the forum. Where in NY? I'm in Cortland.

It's so cold here that my wife's car door locking mechanism grease was so sluggish this morning that the door wouldn't latch after she got it open. I had to blow a hair dryer on it.

Any we're not having ANYTHING like what some of the Northwest is getting. We've only got maybe minus 5

·
Pain in the A$$
1,904 Posts
phinds said:
I'm in Cortland.
I was born & raised in Virgil near Greek Peak Ski Resort. I graduated Cortland HS in '89.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am actually only 25 miles north of NYC. There is a woodworking show in Albany during the spring I am planning on going to.

·
Registered
834 Posts
Welcome!

·
Registered
3,248 Posts
Sorry its actually Saratoga Springs (That's NEAR Albany :yes: ) and it's run by the Northeastern Woodworkers Association.

http://www.nwawoodworkingshow.org
Yeah, that's the one I've gone to. I think of it as Balson Spa because that's just down the road and it's where Curtis lumber is. If you've never been to Curtis you should check it out. They normally have big booth at the Saratoga Springs show.

·
Registered
1,439 Posts