Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi, i am a noob in woodworking and i just bought the kreg pocket hole jig yesterday and its very helpfull.

i wanted to know if there is many other little tools like that who can make the job easier (like a shelf pin drill kit and things like that).

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
I think the best advice for those without an unlimited budget, is to buy what you need for the project at hand.

·
Registered
8 Posts
My $.02, your brain is the best tool. But to put stuff into your hands?

A metal carpenters square. 3 of them. 6", 12", 24".

A GOOD shop pencil.

A GREAT tape measure. After all, it's what you're relying on to make everything right!

And good consumables: blades, sandpaper, bits, discs, etc. don't skimp out on the things that you need the most.

-Rob

·
Registered
35 Posts
I am still learning and building up my aresenal of tools. I think the most important of tools is a table saw, miter saw, jig saw, cordless & corded drill. Then you move up to getting accessory tools, biscuit cutter, planer, sanders, circular, belt sanders, drill press, band saw, and lots and lots of clamps. 3/4" pipe clamps work the best. And someday a jointer so you can glue up boards and have a true flat edge on each board.

·
crosseyed & dyslexic
589 Posts
Making the job easier? That comes with time spent learning the simple things like joinery and their applications. In my humble opinion a pocket hole jig doesn't do much for that.
Knowing how to tune your table saw or band saw make things easier, learning how to get a square edge or making a perfect miter makes thing easier.
Buy what you need as you need it, Rockler, Lee Valley make some pretty catalogs with all kinds of things that you just can't live without like that shelf pin jig right? Spend some more time in the shop and you'll soon learn that jig making is an art in itself.