Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
754 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still very new to woodworking and I'm excited to learn. I'm wanting to put together a compact shop and I need some advice.

So far I have a few nail guns, a compressor (small pancake style), a 12" DeWalt compound miter saw, a few hand sanders, and various hand tools.

What would you guys recommend me buying. I need small but good quality stuff (without breaking the bank). I'm working with a 17' x 11' area so I'm going to need to get creative with storage.

I obviously need a table saw and routers...

Thanks for the help :thumbsup:

·
Registered
170 Posts
I'm still very new to woodworking and I'm excited to learn. I'm wanting to put together a compact shop and I need some advice.

So far I have a few nail guns, a compressor (small pancake style), a 12" DeWalt compound miter saw, a few hand sanders, and various hand tools.

What would you guys recommend me buying. I need small but good quality stuff (without breaking the bank). I'm working with a 17' x 11' area so I'm going to need to get creative with storage.

I obviously need a table saw and routers...

Thanks for the help :thumbsup:
What are you wanting to do with it?

·
Forgotten but not gone
5,674 Posts
If you want to make small boxes and simple items/gifts like i.e. jewelry boxes, blanket chests, cutting boards, stuff like that, that where alot of woodworkers start. But you will soon graduate to that entertainment center. So you might as well goahead and realize that buying on a budget is one thing, but quickly realizing that you spent too little can be expensive in the longrun too.

What i am talking about is the table saw. You have heard it said a million times that it's the heart of the shop, because it is true. So many guys put together a woodshop and spend $1000 - $1500 on a router, bits, and a good quality compound miter saw.