Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt at a bent lamination. It's 2.5 inches wide and 9 plys of 1/8" laminations. I'm making a headboard for a bed and wanted to cap the top curve of the headboard.

The headboard piece is 6/4 maple and after I cut the curve I used the headboard and the cutoff waste as the bending form.

So the two issues I ran into are that the lamination developed a Twist, and secondly, the lamination sprang back a bit and now doesn't follow the shape of the form. Any ideas on how to prevent this in the future?

For this piece, I am ok with the twist since it isn't too severe and I took some of it out with a block plane and a sander. For the shape not fitting, I will cut a dado into the lamination so it will fit over the headboard piece so you won't see the shape mismatch.

However, I'd like some suggestions on how to do this better next time.

Wood Table Machine tool Machine Hardwood

Workbench Table Wood Radial arm saw Furniture

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
I have a few suggestions. I take my lams in sequence from the stock. IOW, I don't mix up the pieces. The thickness might benefit from making them a bit thinner. I block sand each lam on both sides to remove any fuzz, to get them smooth. Clamping only a few...like 2 to start makes clamping easier, and it's easier to control the sliding around. When clamping, getting even pressure, so one edge doesn't get more compressed than the other.

If it's possible to have a top form in addition to the bottom one, will help. Leave them clamped over night...or at least for a day.

·
Registered
28,388 Posts