Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a master mechanic handheld belt sander that I picked up used for cheap while back.
When ever I use it the belt keeps slowly sliding off the rollers so I have to keep stopping to put it back on. Its really becoming annoying.

I’ve looked but can’t find anyway to adjust the tension on it. Any one Have any advise on anything I can try to solve this or is it just a case of getting what you pay for?
Thanks.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
None that I can find.
I don’t have the book for it so I can’t say for certain but if there is I sure can’t find it.

Once I get a chance I may have to try pulling the thing open and see if I can find anything.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
Most belt sanders have an adjuster for the front roller only. The tension is not usually adjustable as it is created by the action of unlocking the release when putting on a new belt. Look for a thumb screw knob to adjust the front roller. It may have been lost and that's why it's so cheap. If that's the case, look for a hole that may or not have visible threads.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Are the rollers slick with very fine dust ground into them? Perhaps a thorough cleaning with a rubber conditioner may help them grab and hold the belt in place better. I once had to do that with my Makita after using it on some old painted wood. Not a problem since.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Sorry for taking so long.
I cleaned the rollers and that had no effect. Looking the thing over better a may have found where the knob should be. Found a spot on the front roller that looks like the knob may have twisted off the shaft. Now I just need to get the end of the shaft out and find a new one.

·
Registered
2 Posts
When all else fails read the Manual for the Master Mechanic Model 8575 Three Inch Belt Sander

Auto-Belt Control System