Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been working on the furniture for our bedroom for five years now with not a whole lot to show for that amount of time. The nightstands were done in 2007 and the bed was completed in 2008 and I actually started this tall boy project almost two years ago but only got as far as cutting the cabinet sides and stretchers and then I ‘had’ to work on a string of other projects and I just never got back to it. So three weeks ago I jumped back into it and I was able to get it all completed and set up this weekend. I thought about doing a build thread but since I had already started I decided not to. Maybe next time.
The material is 4/4” hard maple and ¾” maple ply. The drawers are ½” Baltic birch with a 4/4 maple drawer front. I got the 16” auto close full extension drawer slides from Grizzly and they work great. I applied two coats of Minwax’s Sedona Red and Special Walnut in a 50/50 ratio. I spray finished it with 2 coats of vinyl sealer and then 4 coats of Cab Acrylic Lacquer in an MRE finish.
It was my wife’s idea to add the pull out coat hanger rails on each side and I must say I like the way they turned out – even if I did add them after the whole box was complete because I forgot to include them in the initial build :furious:. They are very subtle and are 7/8” square and extend about 7” before hitting the stop.
Overall size of the unit is 42” x 21” x 68”. The actual height was determined by the ability of my better half being able to see into the top drawer without having to be on her tip toes.

Attachments

·
Registered
12,544 Posts
That really looks good. I especially like the hangers on the ends.

Why do you call it a "tall boy dresser" vice a chest of drawers?

George

204 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
That really looks good. I especially like the hangers on the ends.

Why do you call it a "tall boy dresser" vice a chest of drawers?

George