Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning to install beadboard on the lower 1/3 of my gameroom walls. However, there are 4 room openings that lead to the kitchen, living room, and laundry room that do not have frames or doors. These openings also have bull-nose round corners. Traditionally, it would be easy to stop the beadboard on the edge of a door frame. However, I am unsure how to stop the edge of the beadboard on the openings without the leading edge of a frame to butt up against. What is the best method in doing so?

I am a first time home owner and this is my first home improvement project. A lot of terms I am new to so please bare with me :)

·
Registered
137 Posts
And this beadboard will have baseboard on the bottom and a chair rail on top? If so, I'd think a vertical piece of one-by of the same material standing just a bit proud of the baseboard and chair rail would look ok. Maybe it's edges and top slightly rounded-over. Maybe install that vertical end-stop just a little shy of the bullnose corners.

·
John
3,028 Posts
I'd just finish off the last stile with a chamfer but a round over would work equally well :smile:

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
Do the roundover on the beadboard as suggested, then run the base board and chair rail a 1/4" past the bead board and do a return on them, stopping shy of the bullnose.

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
Here's a picture of a "return" - this one is under a windowsill, but it's the same idea for stopping any trim on a flat surface.

Attachments

·
Registered
12,943 Posts
And this beadboard will have baseboard on the bottom and a chair rail on top? If so, I'd think a vertical piece of one-by of the same material standing just a bit proud of the baseboard and chair rail would look ok. Maybe it's edges and top slightly rounded-over. Maybe install that vertical end-stop just a little shy of the bullnose corners.
\