Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, hope you are all well.

I'm new to woodworking and would take it up as a hobby. Also sell some of my crafts (when they are good enough!)

Mainly small crafts like fish and butteflys but then i want to make laundry baskets etc

I was wondering what would you consider a basic tool setup to start with.

Thanks
Paul

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
Hi everyone, hope you are all well.

I'm new to woodworking and would take it up as a hobby. Also sell some of my crafts (when they are good enough!)

Mainly small crafts like fish and butteflys but then i want to make laundry baskets etc

I was wondering what would you consider a basic tool setup to start with.

Thanks
Paul
first off wood supplyer, ready to use of buy in the ruff ?? now in the ruff you will need a planer, sound's likd for the small stuff a band saw ? their is so much you could buy , but figure out what machine it takes to do the job you are going to do, than buy that machine, i have a full shop, so their are lot's to buy , but you may not need it now, write down what you are going to do than get back and you will get more of a direct answare good luck

·
Registered
29 Posts
Welcome to the fascinating endeavor of woodworking. Here are some basic tools you might consider to get started...

Tools to shape wood:
Work bench with vice(s)
A good rip saw, cross cut saw and a dovetail saw, minimum
Set of chisels (including a mallet for striking the chisels)
Block plane (learn to sharpen and fine tune it)
#4 Smoothing plane (learn to sharpen and fine tune it)
Band Saw (I find it necessary to have one, especially if you don't have a table saw)
Table saw (nice to have but not absolutely necessary if you have a band saw)

Measuring tools:
Rulers (12", 24" and 48")
Marking knife
Marking gauge
Pencils
Compass

Miscellaneous:
Drill press or at least a hand drill
Clamps
Wood glue
Fasteners
Screwdrivers, pliers, awl