Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
746 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just learning the use of a lathe, having used a metal lathe in college I find that the basics don't work quite the same way with a wood lathe.

What seems to be giving me the most trouble is even diameter reduction. That is, taking an rough and uniformly reducing it's diameter across the length - say 3" to 2 7/8" diameter.

With a metal lathe it's simple, set it to the correct diameter and then traverse the length with the cutter. With a chisel - not so much. I find that I tend to carve deeper into the wood as I move along the length - I'm assuming because I am looking at the wood from an angle when working.

Other than practice practice practice (which I'm doing, and getting better) what might I try to help me along? Maybe to narrow down this open-ended question, should I focus on how I'm holding the chisel on the tool rest - work on sliding the chisel smoothly across the rest? I got plenty of scrap 2x3's in the shop - so practicing isn't a problem.

·
Registered
3,248 Posts
Yeah, woodturnign is NOT metal turning. As you're finding out, with wood turning, your hand/eye/brain coordination is the "setting".

It shouldn't be hard to hang a pair of calipers nearby and check frequently ... that should help you get a feel for when you're tending to cut more at one end of the length than the other and help you learn to correct that tendancy.

·
This Space For Rent
819 Posts
The toolrest is your guide in this situation. Hold the gouge with your thumb on top and your fingers underneath with the index finger riding against the back of the toolrest.

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
Take a set of outside calipers. Set them for the final dimension. Use a parting tool to cut down to that dimension in several locations along the piece. Then just take away the wood above these cuts. I use a rough out gouge to get close and then a skew for the final few passes.