Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4,285 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to bid on a job where the owner wants a Bar Top Finish. I have never done this before and am looking for people that actually have used this stuff. I will be using Envirotex because that is what I can get locally. These type finishes are probably all the same or close to it. Anyway, I don’t need info on cost or mixing. I need info for the actual application. The person I need to talk to locally is on vacation this week and next week and I want to get a price out by Monday morning. From what I gather, it is not difficult I just have to work fast.
What do I really need to know?
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
4,285 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks John.
I loooked at youtube and it does look easy enough. I figure its just a pour and level operation.

·
Old School
24,027 Posts
Anyway, I don’t need info on cost or mixing. I need info for the actual application.
What do I really need to know?
Thanks in advance.

Since you say you don't need info on cost, you're probably just referring to materials cost. I will say, don't underestimate how much you would need.

To bid the project without ever having done the procedure, lacks the ability to estimate the total labor involved...start to finish. There's not really that much to it if you follow proper steps. It might pay, depending on how large a project is money wise, to know what you are getting into, to do a small top just for the experience. I know that sounds like a waste of time and money.

What can be a financial demise is to get the job and run into a problem. Doing a small top won't answer all your questions, but it will give you a hands on feel, and you may be better able to judge the labor cost for a bid.