Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
n/a
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
newbie here, thanks for letting me join. i bought a used Laguna LT18 bandsaw (2005 model). want to use it for resaw and looking for ideas on a resaw fence. manufacturer does not have any, also none to retrofit.

· The Nut in the Cellar
1,985 Posts
Welcome!
This the one I made for my 10" bandsaw. It is 6 1/2" tall as the saw has a 7" resaw capacity. Size can be altered to fit the saw. I made it from scrap 3/4" oak veneered plywood. It clamps to the saw table so you can adjust it for drift.
Wood Wood stain Floor Hardwood Flooring

· where's my table saw?
32,644 Posts
There are two basic approaches:
Clamp a fence over the top of your existing one which save making all the necessary steps to lock it down.
Start from scratch like Jim's and make a simple "L" shaped fence to clamp on the table.
The first approach may NOT allow you to correct for drift, however if your OEM doesn't provide for it.

Reactions: B and B

· Registered
A cat made me do it.
1,525 Posts
i dont even have a fence to start with, looks like im gonna need to build one from scratch
That answers what I wasn't sure about in your original post, if you needed a taller fence for resawing or you are starting from zero.

I don't have experience with after market BS fences, in general Kreg is a good brand.
They have a couple of heights of add-ons for resawing.

On Google, Amazon etc search for: bandsaw fence

Some are magnetic, I'd rather have a rail system. This Grizzly is interesting, but you would need to check that it will fit the front-to-back size of your table. Maybe if your table is larger the fence can work without the rear rail?

Please post what solution you come up with.

Edit: Sometimes I make my own shop stuff, sometimes I prefer to buy it. Here's a DIY example:

· Premium Member
4,781 Posts
You got a nice saw there. Wow you can't get a fence from Laguna?