Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to buy a used band saw from craigslist I'd saw, not looking for anything fancy but not looking for total junk. Wondering what brands to stay away from and what to check when buying one? I'm new to wood working so still learning which this site is pretty darn good for. Anyways on craigslist I've found a pro-tech 9 inch band saw(never heard of them), 10 inch ace band saw, either for $50 or a 10 inch craftsman for $100. Should i keep looking or either of them worth it? With the weather we've had I've been browsing craigslist looking for any and everything since there's nothing else to do.

Random wood price question, being new i don't know prices of wood and saw some African and Honduran Mahogany on craigslist as well and was wondering what do it usually go for? Don't plan on using it until i get better but figured if it was a decent price i could get some and have it when I'm ready. The African was $8.50bf and $10bf for the Honduran.

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
Personally, Id hold off for a 14" saw. They come up for $150 or so fairly often. I have a 14" and a 9". I rarely drag the 9" saw out of its cubby hole. I just dont have much use for it and it wont do near the work that my 14" saw will do.

·
Registered
834 Posts
That 10 inch craftsman might be worth a look if it's the rikon clone model. I think about getting a smaller one to keep around just for curves and keep the resaw blade on the other one I have. Now if I only had the space that I wished I had.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That 10 inch craftsman might be worth a look if it's the rikon clone model. I think about getting a smaller one to keep around just for curves and keep the resaw blade on the other one I have. Now if I only had the space that I wished I had.
How would i be able to tell or do you know what model number would be the clone?

·
Registered
504 Posts