Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Quick Background- I just purchased my own tools for my new shop, I have been woodworking for many years but not with my own stuff. Always used on base shops.

I have had my stuff for several months and have been using it quit frequently. I did all the initial setup as per the instruction manuals. I have watched videos and read many discussions on this topic. I have recently purchased a wood slicer blade and done the installation hoping for a better result with my cuts. I am using rather expensive Koa wood and need to get good results not only to save money but to get a good quality book match as I make box's for the most part. What I am finding is that although the blade cut well and I am getting a generally straight cut, the blade does wonder some and I am getting some center of the board drifting . By the time I cut the board and sand it flat on my drum-sander I find that I am loosing much more wood than I am used to and getting further from the book-match that I need. I have done a lot of test and trials with different setups. Never getting the minimal sanding that should come with the quality of equipment that I have. This is for sure a problem in the way that I am tuning the saw but I cant figure out for the life of me what I am doing wrong.

Here are the steps the I am taking
1. Remove table and install the blade and centering the teeth and gullets on the center of the top wheel.
2. Adjust all guide rollers so that they are as close to the blade as I can get without touching the blade.
3. Test all rollers to make sure they are not moving with the blade rotating
4. instal table and square it 90 to the blade
5. Install fence
6. take a square edged board and mark parallel lines to the edge, make a test cut freehand following the line until tracking straight for a few inches. Stop the saw and mark the edge of the board on the table.