Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am building some wall hung cubes for underneath my TV out of walnut. What is the best way to attach these to the wall? Before, I did a solid back that is captured in a groove in the carcass (not sure if I should have done that or not) that seem to be working fine. I do not really want to waste all that wood for a back. Could I put a rail at the top and the bottom? If so, how do I fasten that to the carcass? I'm fairly new to all of this so all your help is appreciated.

·
John
3,028 Posts
I am building some wall hung cubes for underneath my TV out of walnut. What is the best way to attach these to the wall? Before, I did a solid back that is captured in a groove in the carcass (not sure if I should have done that or not) that seem to be working fine. I do not really want to waste all that wood for a back. Could I put a rail at the top and the bottom? If so, how do I fasten that to the carcass? I'm fairly new to all of this so all your help is appreciated.
Hi Jack - I'd suggest hanging them with French cleats. You can install the wall portion of the cleat at the desired height and make sure it's level, hang the cabinet and put one or two screws through a nailer at the bottom of the cabinet to secure it.. Here's some pictures:
http://www.google.com/search?q=fren...QGm7ID4Bg&sqi=2&ved=0CFUQsAQ&biw=1225&bih=765

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I guess I should have said the size. One of these is 60"l x 12"t x 18"d. So they aren't exactly cubes. Picture a large rectangular cube haha. And they will probably be holding about 30lbs of stuff (receiver, cable box, etc).

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5