Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

To preface, I have zero woodworking experience (or tools) whatsoever and my knowledge about building tables is limited to a couple Google searches over the last week about stability and wood movement/warping. I have since gathered that aprons are important here. Got it.

Thing is, my table idea doesn't include an apron. So I want to be sure the top and metal base can work together and last awhile without presenting issues. The top will be 30x44", 1.25" thick -- cherry, maple, or possibly reclaimed pine or chestnut, purchased from a local tablemakin company.

Here are the rectangular steel stock legs I want to use: http://www.etsy.com/listing/151783293/table-legs-rect-stock-black-satin-pair?ref=related-0

They are 28.5" high, 24.375" W and 1" thick. They have a 6" mounting bar that runs the width of the top of the legs. I was planning on just.... Attaching them? Will this work? Am I wasting my money on a table that will get all bendy eventually?

Any advice would be appreciated :) thanks :smile:

·
Registered
35 Posts
I am by no means an expert, like you, I'm new to this... Maybe a year+ into it.

I imagine if you have oversize holes where you screw the legs to the top, you should be ok as far as expansion and contraction. But I'll defer to someone who actually might know. ;)

·
Registered
35 Posts
Also, I am to understand that expansion happens perpendicular to the grain, so if you install the leg assemblies parallel, you might be ok? But definitely confirm this with a pro first.

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
My take, with the caveat that I, too, have very little practical experience: