Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
puffessional Scrabbleist
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am headed towards a wheel chair as many of us are. I use one now (part-time) but will I be able to continue when it gets worse? I don’t know. It would be nice to read what others are contemplating on this sensitive issue. I’m totally convinced my shop keeps me alive. I don’t want to lose it? Any ideas (or rants)?

TonyM

·
Registered
201 Posts
Tony, Hi, I am up in Turner (over the hill in back of Willamette Valley Winery). If there is anything I can do to help let me know. You are in my thoughts. If you need to have wheelchair access to the shop, let me know, I am retired and would be able to come down and help arrange tools, etc. to allow easier access if that would help. Keep your chin up and things will work out. ken

·
Registered
885 Posts
As a physical therapist I am pretty familiar with adaptive issues for a lot of different disabilities. How you adapt to the changes in your body varies a lot by activity. What kind of wood working do you do now? Large or small pieces? I have seen whole gymnasiums converted to W/C use. A shop wouldn't be much different. Just some creativity. Some times my legs are tired enough that I would like to sit and finish a project. I see patients all the time that complain about having to stand to iron clothes without ever thinking there might be a better way. They do it standing because its been done that way for years. Work benches can be made so a W/C can roll under them. Drill presses and router table would be easy. Table saws are more of a challenge but a lot could done with sleds and clamps or hold downs/toggle clamps.
I think the biggest issues would be milling the rough lumber if you are using huge pieces. It wouldn't take much tho to put a planer on a stand at W/C height.

·
Registered
885 Posts